EC allays fears after AAP questions delay, declares final turnout at 62.59 pc

10-02-2020 10:53:43
By : Shrishti Nagar

The Election Commission on Sunday announced the final voter turnout for Delhi Assembly polls at 62.59 per cent, saying that to maintain accuracy data compilation took time, allaying all fears after the Aam Aadmi Party questioned the delay.

Rejecting all allegations leveled by AAP that the Election Commission was delaying the announcement of final figure of voter turnout, Delhi CEO Ranbir Singh said, "The process takes time. We wanted to share a exact data with you. Our officer worked till late night, then they became busy in scrutiny the data. In the data entry, it is very important to ensure accuracy."

The CEO informed that the polling went till late night at some booths.

He said that the Delhi Cantt seat saw the lowest turnout of 45.4 per cent, while Ballimaran in old Delhi witnessed the highest, at 71.66 per cent of voters.

Okhla Assembly constituency, where Shaheen Bagh is located -- an epicenter of anti-CAA protest -- saw 58.84 per cent turnout.

Earlier in the day, AAP leaders, including Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal termed the delay 'absolutely shocking'.

Mr Kejriwal asked why the poll body was not releasing the voter percentage.

Addressing the media, Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Singh said, "When the Lok Sabha elections were held with ballot papers, even then the percentage of votes used to be known in one hour, now the technology has gone so far, yet the EC has not issued the final poll percentage."

"This is perhaps the first time in the 70-year history of country that the Election Commission is not ready to release the final figure of voter turnout. The entire country and Delhi have been waiting for the polling percentage since yesterday", he asserted.

Senior Deputy Election Commissioner Sandeep Saxena, responding to the allegations, said, "There were 13,780 polling stations. Residing officers needs time to compile the data. This process take time. In 2015 too, we released the final data on next day."

Delhi had gone to polls on Saturday to elect its seventh Assembly. Exit polls by various television channels indicated that the ruling AAP is set to retain power for the third consecutive terms with a sweeping majority, however, both Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress expressed confidence in their win and assured Delhiites of a surprise result.

The counting of votes will begin on Tuesday, February 11 at 0800 hrs.


Note : Your comments will be first reviewed by our moderators and then will be available to public.

Get it on Google Play