France extends Omicron-linked ban on travel from 7 African states to Saturday: Diplomat

01-12-2021 14:59:35
By : Twinkle Singh

France has extended restrictions on air traffic with seven nations in southern Africa where the Omicron variant of the coronavirus was found until December 4, French Secretary of State for European Affairs Clement Beaune said on Wednesday.

The restrictions were introduced last Friday and extended on Sunday.

"This morning we extended the suspension of flights from seven southern African countries until Saturday," Beaune told the RTL broadcaster.

Last week, the World Health Organization recognized Omicron as a strain of concern due to the high number of mutations it contains, including 32 mutations in spike proteins, which possibly makes the new variant more transmissible and dangerous.


Note : Your comments will be first reviewed by our moderators and then will be available to public.

Get it on Google Play